Selected for Les Bourgeois Wine Label!

My blog is mostly about writing, the how-to’s, the struggles, the torture, the obsession and all that goes with, but today I’m jump tracks and going to share my first love, art, along with a guilty pleasure – local wine.

If you are from Missouri then you know of the picturesque winery atop the bluffs of the Missouri River known as Les Bourgeois. Each year they release a selection of Collector Series Wines, choosing artist work to adorn the labels, the honor goes to only three.

This year I am honored to be chosen as one of the three.

I’m trying not to make this a giddy post but I’m pretty much doing the happy dance while typing this. The painting is called River Storm.

River Storm by Casey Voight

River Storm – Casey Voight
Acrylic on canvas

On the surface River Storm is a throwback to the historical time of petticoats and parasols, chivalry and etiquette. But below that, it is dark encroaching light. The exciting energy-filled air within the moments just before a storm. It is being caught away from home, knowing you are on the verge of something happening, vulnerable but keeping steadfast. The background reminds me of my grandfather Wendleton’s farm in Boonville, MO. The wind would race across the fields whistling through every barn, old car body and windmill, an orchestra upon the plain.

If you would like to see it and several other pieces in person, I would love to invite  you to the Collector’s Series Wine Release and Art Show. I know it’s early, (really early), but if you don’t have anything going on July 13th, 2013 I’d love to sip wine with you!

Screen Shot 2013-03-15 at 11.08.24 AM

The celebration is from 2pm to 7pm in the lower terrace of the Bistro, Rocheport, Mo. There will be complementary wine tasting, barrel tasting of the new releases, and art exhibits. Doesn’t sipping wine on the terrace with the bluff-top breezes dancing about sound amazing right now?

My collection will also be displayed for four months at the Bistro in 2014.

Thank you to Les Bourgeois and the Columbia Art League for choosing my painting, I am THRILLED. Thank you Jenna Voight for the email you sent a couple of months back that read “Hey you should enter this”, support and encouragement from friends like you is so heart-warming.

Dream Big and With No Excuses,

Cheers, Casey

 

8 thoughts on “Selected for Les Bourgeois Wine Label!

  1. Very proud of you my friend and you are very welcome. We will always be here to support your wonderful talents. Much love and can’t wait to attend the wine release and art show with you.
    Much love,
    Jenna

  2. Casey, I am so happy for you. I love this painting and it is so appropriate for a bottle of wine that is produced on a river bluff! It is such a mysterious painting just summonzing you to taste the wine within! Smart decision for the Columbia Art League and Les Bourgeois!

  3. Congrats girl, this is awesome! You are the trifecta of talent. Please don’t tell me you can sing and dance and act, otherwise I might suspect your wine is spiked with something. Maybe we’ll plan on of our trips back home this year around July… 🙂 Congrats again!

Leave a Reply

