Savoring Life – A Delicious Practice

I’m trying not to sound like a broken record lately, but the concept of really living is one I have been holding onto like a life-preserver. Sometimes you can just about trick yourself out of the effects of  negative moment(s) by focusing on a moment worth savoring. I have needed to retreat lately and focus less on my writing and the goals of my life and more on the journey of life. When your path gets too rocky, sometimes you have to throw down and do some landscaping.  I was reading a blog I like called zenhabits.net and the blog post was entitled How to Savor Life. This savoring, it states, is a magical act. It uses the example of eating chocolate, instead of scarfing it down you really think about eating it and appreciate it. After reading the post, I went straight to the pantry and grabbed a mini Reeces peanut buttercup (it was all I had) and tried this little love affair.
Thanks for being my lip model Larissa!

Thanks for being my lip model Larissa!

At first, I just wanted a strong cup of coffee to go with it, but I’ll leave my caffeine addiction out of this.
The act of savoring is exactly as the post states – magical. Why you ask? Because it causes us to be in the moment which we so desperately need, it makes us happy and who doesn’t need more happiness in their life?
Find a place where there is joy, and the joy will burn out the pain. Joseph Campbell
Sometimes when you are going through rough times you need to hang on to every ounce of spiritual uplifting that you can find, and savoring the good moments is an easy way to be uplifted. It is about learning to live presently, to fully enjoy the gift of each moment, to give that moment the space and attention it deserves. It takes practice, but it’s a delicious practice and I don’t just mean the chocolate.
The best of a book is not the thought which it contains, but the thought which it suggests; just as the charm of music dwells not in the tones but in the echoes of our hearts. – John Greenleaf Whittier

I truly believe that once you are mindful and truly aware of the life around you, you will start to see things – treasures that you have never seen before. After time you will notice life has become mindful of you

Dream Big and with No Excuses, Cheers Casey

8 thoughts on “Savoring Life – A Delicious Practice

  1. Sounds like you hit one of those potholes. Taking a step back and regrouping and looking at what has worked and what hasnt. Its human nature I guess but regardless of what you may think personally of your journey, to others you have made tremendous leaps and bounds Im sure. Keep at it Casey, youve got support at all ends of the spectrum!

  2. I love the John Greenleaf Whittier quote. I’ve always said it’s not what the writer puts into the words but what the reader takes out of them (I got an “A” in Grade 12 English for that one). Good post Casey!

  3. Casey,
    I hope the rocky road you are on smooths out soon, unless it is made of Rocky Road ice cream, in which case you should sit down and have a bowl.
    As far as chocolate is concerned, I suggest true dark chocolate (at least 70%). Some people find it a little bitter, but if you take the time to savor it and experience the flavors, you will be rewarded with sumptuous dark chocolate notes rather than just slightly chocolate-flavored sugar.
    Playing off your point about dreaming big with no excuses, here is a quote I came across the other day:

    All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them. – Walt Disney

    • Ha! I much prefer the road of Rocky Road ice cream, great visual! I have since invested in more savory chocolate, big difference. I love the quote, here is to being brave and courageous!

  4. Pingback: Blogging Best Practices, part IV « Megaphone Society

  5. Pingback: Piloting Paper Airplanes | Blogging best practices: Grammar, graphics & links

Leave a Reply

