Expectations and Dragon Slayers

Expectations aka High Goals.

I’ve always been told I have too high expectations in people. I see the world through rose-colored glasses. I’m not realistic. I’ve always hated hearing that. It’s true: I do expect a lot out of people, but to be fair, it’s only a fraction of what I expect out of myself.

My question to you is this: “Why is it so bad to have really high expectations, whether it be in yourself or others?

Why is it so over -the-top, so unfeasible, so e-x-h-a-u-s-t-i-n-g, so fill-in-the-word-you-want. Why do I hear people talk about their goals and yet I can’t have the expectation that they are working toward those goals? Why does that equal having TOO high expectations in people? What else is there to be working towards?

I love Nike’s motto “Just Do it.” It’s so to-the-point and I think it’s a great New Years Resolution for anyone afraid of setting too high an expectation or goal for themselves. Don’t settle for excuses; they only hinder your happiness in the long run. Go for it, Make it happen. Even if you don’t think you have the support or help you need, you have enough within yourself right now to dive in and never look back.

Here is your HOW-TO:

  1. Invest in the time to write down one thing that you’ve wanted to do but that seemed too daunting or too hard or too exhausting to achieve. It’s the thing that haunts you, calling to you to visit it, reminding you of its spark. It’s just sitting there in your mind hoping you’ll pour a little gasoline on top of it, SO DO IT– ignite yourself.
  2. Now take that huge, daunting, exhausting, unachievable expectation/goal/dream and bust it up into tiny, happy, friendly, sweet and achievable expectations/goals/dreams.  Little things you could achieve in ONE WEEK. (I like my long list of expletives in this post. 🙂 )
  3. Now print off a calendar, however many weeks, months, years you need. Write down each little goal on every Sunday of your calendar. Sunday is the thinking, dreaming, planning day so that when Monday comes you’re so revved up your smoking in your starting blocks. All you have to do is achieve that one little goal during that week.
  4. If some goals need more than a week, that’s okay. Bust them up again and push everything back, BUT DO NOT LET EXCUSES BUTT INTO YOUR DREAM.

Days will go by and it will be hard… really hard. You’ll want to give up because it’s exhausting, it’s time-consuming, it’s fill-in-the-word-you-feel. Get mad, get frustrated, get pissed off and channel that aggression into perseverance. Before long you are going to come to a day when you stop and finally look back over the little square cobblestone steps that are your calendar days. You will say  “humpf, well damn, I did it”.

~ You are more than you think you are. ~

Expectation (noun): the act or state of looking forward or anticipating. I don’t know why anyone would ever think that is a bad thing to have. I’m not talking about an expectation to have your dream handed to you. I’m talking about an expectation that you are going after that dream, no matter how hard the journey is.

The Megaphone Society website has a great quote today by G.K. Chesterton:

Fairytales are more than true;

not because they tell us that dragons exist,

but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten.

So go forth, life’s too short. Start today – RIGHT NOW. Go find your dragon. What is stopping you?

I will end this with a stanza from my favorite poem, Burning Driftwood by John Greenleaf Whittier;

Far more than all I dare to dream,

unsought before my door I see;

On wings of fire and steeds of steam

The world’s great wonders come to me.

And for all the dreamers that you know, no matter how bazar their idea, NEVER tell them how unfeasible, over-the-top, or exhausting it is. You could alter history for the worse.

Those crazy enough to think they can change the world, do. For all those that dream and have high hopes and high expectations in themselves and others, here is to you, you push us all to greater heights. Cheers, Casey

3 thoughts on “Expectations and Dragon Slayers

  1. Pingback: The Story of Megaphone « Megaphone Society

  2. Pingback: Megaphone Official Launch – Join Us! | Casey Voight, Writer Artist

  3. Pingback: Discovering Indie Authors | Casey Voight, Writer Artist

Leave a Reply

